Quick Links
...loading weather data...
Weather Icon
Humidity: Wind:
Georgia Main Street Main Street America

Appointed Committees, Boards, and Commissions

Downtown Development Authority

Executive Director: Vivian Young
Chairman: George Dick
Advisor: Charles Cawthon
Board Members: Amber Holcomb
Daniel Brown
Nora Chambers
LaDonna Andrews
Esther Moulder
Diane Toney

City of Lavonia Vision and Mission Statements of the Mainstreet Program

The Main Street Program will leverage all available resources to create, implement, and evaluate a systematic plan of work specifically designed to stimulate and sustain downtown economic growth and viability, protect and preserve our historic resources and downtown character, to enhance the overall quality of life for the citizens of Lavonia, Georgia.

Vision Statement
Lavonia is a thriving community utilizing a unique combination of historic preservation and change as positive forces for determining our future. We will preserve our safe, small town atmosphere, our natural surroundings and our past. We strive for excellent schools, recreation, cleanliness and the relaxed pace of life where businesses and neighbors know your name and whereby the economy is diverse enough to satisfy everyday needs locally. We will protect these treasures, even while we envision changes that will enhance our quality of life.

Revised 03/01/2018

Historic Preservation Commission

Chairman: Margaret Ayers
Secretary/Treasurer: Priscilla Gothard
Advisor: Charles Cawthon
Board Members: Marie Loftis
Tom Dixon
Wayne Lawson
Gwen Moore

Planning and Zoning Commission

Zoning Administrator: Charles Cawthon
Chairman: Jim Gothard
Secretary: Barbara Clark
Board Members: Jerry Byrd
Bobby Lott
Jim Gothard
Terry Rushton

Cemetery Commission

Chairman: Vivian Young
Advisor:Randy Dove
Board Members: Margaret Ayers
Priscilla Gothard
Ernestine Lee
Courtney Umbehant
Marie Loftis
Duchess Blakely

Tree Commission

Margaret Ayers
Jan Burgess
Ernestine Lee
Randy Moore
Jim Gothard

Human Relations Board

Bobby Berryman
Barbara Clark
Ruth Meeks